John de Gruchy
Founding Trustee & Chair

Prof. John de Gruchy is a widely acclaimed academic and theologian, who taught at UCT from 1973-2003. At the time of his retirement he was Director of the Graduate School in Humanities, and Deputy Dean of the Faculty. From 2004-2017, he was a Senior Scholar mentoring younger academics and doing research. He has lectured in many countries and authored or edited more than thirty books. He also holds the position of Extraordinary Professor at Stellenbosch University.

Amanda Mahlanyane

Ms Amanda Mahlanyane is one of the original Sparklekids, a former receptionist at the Marine Hotel and Duty Manager at the Windsor Hotel, She was a participant in the Volmoed Leadership Training Programme. She now works full-time for Hermanus Varsity Trust and as a person who fully understands the local community, has for many become the go-to administrator.

Belinda May

Ms Belinda May grew up in Greyton, in a small disadvantaged community. While waiting to be accepted at a nursing college, she worked at the Hawston Library and decided to stay on. She first qualified as a librarian at UNISA in 2001 and fifteen years later, as a full-time working mother of two, was voted best honours student in Library and Information Science at the same institution. Belinda’s innovative programmes have led to the Hawston Library winning three awards for children and youth services.

John Morris

Dr John Morris has a background in IT, having had a long career in corporate libraries and information management at The House of Lords Library, Ernst and Young, and in the fund management divisions at the Board of Executors and Old Mutual. Originally a bookseller, he has returned to that industry and now owns the premier independent bookshop in Hermanus. He possesses a PhD in English from the University of Exeter, and continues to research and write on the subject of music and politics. He has also won a global award from Microsoft for his innovative work in IT.

Lou-Anne Lubbe

Ms Lou-Anne Lubbe is the Human Resources Director at Abagold and Trustee of the Abagold Foundation. Lou-Anne’s interests are in creating high performance organisations with high levels of employee engagement, community development, executive development, and coaching. Lou-Anne has successfully led transformation at cultural, structural and BBBEE levels for companies in which she was employed and to whom she consulted. Lou-Anne is responsible for all community development which is specifically focused on education, from early childhood education through to tertiary education. She also serves on the Abagold Development Trust.

Ntombizanele Mdoda

Ms Ntombizanele Mdoda studied education at Rand Afrikaans University in 1994. She started teaching at Imikhaya Primary School in Mossel Bay in 1995. She was appointed as Departmental Head at Tyholora Primary School in George in 1998. Thereafter she was appointed Deputy Principal at Zwelihle Primary School in Hermanus in 2010 and became principal there in 2016.

Sindiwe Magone

Dr Sindiwe Magone is an accomplished motivational speaker, author, poet, playwright and award winning story-teller, and currently a writer-in-residence at UWC, mentoring the next generation of writers. She holds a Master of Science Degree in Organisational Social Work from Columbia University and an Honorary Doctorate from Rhodes University. Her prolific writings include an anthology of poetry, a collection of short stories, novels, two autobiographical works and over 48 children's books. She was the first author ever to publish a series of children's books in the Xhosa language.
Sindiwe has won numerous awards in recognition of her literary and humanitarian contributions. In 2011 the Order of Ikhamanga was officially conferred upon her. Her most recent award, the FynArts Legacy Award, which is presented each year to an artist in honour of a “long-standing and unique contribution to the arts in South Africa and beyond”, was received in June 2019.


Delana Finlayson

Ms Delana Finlayson is a professional quantity surveyor, and the founder and Director of Riverside Consulting- Quantity Surveyors. Delana has been involved with infrastructural planning and project implementation at many educational institutions in the Western Cape, ranging from rural schools, prestigious private schools to tertiary institutions like the University of the Western Cape.

Edwin Arrison
Community & Stakeholder Engagement

Reverend Edwin Arrison is an Anglican priest, a social entrepreneur and the Director of the Volmoed Youth Leadership Programme (VYLP). He is also the Chairperson of the Arabella Community Trust.

Mark Addleson

Prof. Mark Addleson is a retired teacher, writer-researcher, and consultant. With a background in economics, he taught at the Wits Graduate School of Business and consulted to organizations in many sectors. He is now Associate Professor Emeritus of Organization Development in the Schar School of Policy and Government at George Mason University, Virginia, USA. He has written a number of books including Beyond Management.

Pamela Ryan
Research & Impact Assessment

Prof. Pamela Ryan holds the position of Professor Emerita at UNISA where she established the School of Graduate Studies, and was Head of the Department of English Studies. She launched several first of a kind online courses. With a background in English Studies and Gender Studies, she has more than 40 years of academic experience. She is also a Research Fellow at St Edmund's College, University of Cambridge.

Theo Krynauw
Community & Stakeholder Engagement

Mr Theo Krynauw was one of the original instigators for higher education in Hermanus. He is the Chairperson of the highly successful Sparklekids initiative, an NPO that has been working with previously disadvantaged high schools in the townships since 2010. Sparklekids started with two students and currently works with 100. The students they have worked with over the years have graduated as teachers, civil engineers, chemical engineers, and have worked on cruise liners overseas. HVT is sometimes referred to as Sparklekids II.

Close Menu